November 11, 2021

As our neighbor in Rutherford County and the surrounding area, you deserve healthcare options built around you. That’s why at Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford we’ve been your choice for healthcare for more than 90 years. And we’ll always be here -- delivering more of your babies, performing more joint replacements to keep you active and helping to repair more of your hearts. Because that’s who we are. We listen and deliver the personalized, compassionate care that’s right for you.

That’s why we’re committed to investing more in our community -- your community. Because when you need care, there is no one you need to count on more than us. And with care teams who listen, locations that are convenient and options that are more affordable - you’ll find the care you need.

In 2022, you’ll see more Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford doors open. We’re opening Tennessee’s first neighborhood hospital at Westlawn and beginning the next phase of development at our Rutherford hospital campus.

Healthcare Built Around You: Our System of Care in Rutherford County

  • Ascension Saint Thomas online care
  • Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford
  • Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford Westlawn Hospital (coming 2022)
  • Premier Radiology in partnership with Ascension Saint Thomas
  • Ascension Saint Thomas Urgent Care in partnership with Urgent Team
  • Ascension Medical Group New Salem
  • Ascension Medical Group Saint Louise
  • New Salem Surgery Center
  • Middle Tennessee Ambulatory Surgery Center
  • Westlawn Surgery Center (coming soon)
  • Results Physiotherapy in partnership with Ascension Saint Thomas
  • Hospital at Home
  • NHC Home Health
  • Kroger Health in clinical affiliation with Ascension Saint Thomas

Delivering on Our Mission to Care for All

Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford has carried out a mission to serve all people needing care in Rutherford County and its surrounding region for more than 90 years. With longstanding community support over the years, the hospital has grown and continues to reinvest in appropriate and needed services. 

  • $500,000,000 million of Community Investments in Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford’s system of care since 2006
  • $35,000,000 in Care of the Poor in 2020
  • 130 new beds (72 bed expansion complete) 58 coming online 2022-2023
  • 100 recruited providers in the last three years
  • 3 new advanced care services to be added including Open Heart Surgery, Level II Trauma and Level III NICU

Awards and Recognitions 

  • Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford is Rutherford County’s top choice for childbirth
  • Ascension Saint Thomas is Middle Tennessee's leader in Joint Replacement and Spine surgery
  • Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford is a Joint Commission Certified Chest Paint Center 
  • Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford is a Certified Advanced Primary Stroke Center

In the News

Who We Are

In Tennessee, Ascension Saint Thomas operates 10 hospital campuses with an 11th underway, in addition to a comprehensive network of affiliated joint ventures, medical practices, clinics and rehabilitation facilities that cover a 68-county area and employ more than 10,000 associates. Across the state, Ascension Saint Thomas provided more than $154 million in community benefit and care of persons living in poverty in fiscal year 2021. Serving Tennessee for 20 years, Ascension is a faith-based health care organization committed to delivering compassionate, personalized care to all, with special attention to persons living in poverty and those most vulnerable.